Search county info online!

Find us on Facebook

Grant County now has a Facebook page! Like and Follow for important information and updates!

County Administration

County Departments

Visit Grant County!

Contact Information

Responsibilities and Requirements of Grant County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is the governing body of Grant County. Its duties, by state law, are both legislative and executive.

The Board is responsible for the overall management of the County government operations. The Board appoints a County Manager, responsible for the day-to-day operation of the County. The County Manager supervises the work of appointed department heads and is responsible for the appointment of non-elected department heads, with concurrence of the Board. In addition, the Board appoints all members of the many boards and committees that assist these programs.

The Board, whether directed by an elected or appointed official, sets all department budgets. A tax rate for all taxing entities in our County is set by and adopted by the Board of Grant County Commissioners. All purchases and sales of county property, construction of county facilities, awards of bids for services and supplies and the appointments of all county personnel are some of the duties that are within the responsibility of the Board of County Commissioners.

The electors of their respective commission districts elect the five Board members to a four-year term. The current Board of Commissioners maintains an open office policy and encourages public comment, suggestions, inquiries and attendance at all Board meetings. Minutes are taken and typed by the Grant County Clerk at all meetings, public hearings, and bids.

The Board of Grant County Commissioners must take all official actions during an open public meeting after being properly noticed on the agenda for the Board of Commissioners action.

The Board of Grant County Commissioners hold regular Board meetings on the third Thursdays of the month. A work session is conducted on the Tuesday prior to each meeting date; no action is taken at this time. Meetings and work sessions are held at 9:00 a.m.

Agendas for the meetings and work sessions are available on this website and through the County Manager's Office, located at the Grant County Administration Center, 1400 Highway 180 East, Silver City, New Mexico.

The annual salary of a County Commissioner is $24,960.00, pursuant to NMSA 1978 Section 4-44-4.1.

Requirements to be a County Commissioner

  • Must be a United States Citizen
  • Must be at least eighteen years of age
  • Must be a registered voter
  • Must reside in the Commission District for which he/she is seeking election
  • Duties and other requirements to serve as commissioner are located in the New Mexico Statutes 1978, Article 38, 4-38-1 through 4-38-42
Contacting your County Commissioner

Commissioner District 1

Gabriel Ramos
Phone:  575-574-0021

Commissioner District 2

Brett Kasten
Phone:  575-574-0022

Commissioner District 3

Alicia Edwards
Phone:  575-574-0023

Commissioner District 4

Billy Billings
Phone:  575-574-0092

Commissioner District 5

Harry Browne
Phone:  575-574-0093

© 2008 by Grant County and Putting the Web to Work dot com. All rights reserved. Calendar data and other portions of this site are available with advance permission for streaming to websites owned by Grant County businesses and communities. Contact the webmaster for details.